Book Prize Winners

Micah Alpaugh, Friends of Freedom: The Rise of Social Movements in the Age of Atlantic Revolution (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2022)
2022-23 PCCBS Book Prize Description

Winner: Priya Satia, Time’s Monster: How History Makes History (Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2020)
2020-21 PCCBS Book Prize Description

Honorable Mention: Susan M. Cogan, Catholic Social Networks in Early Modern England: Kinship, Gender, and Coexistence (Amsterdam: Amsterdam University Press, 2021)
2020-21 PCCBS Book Prize Honorable Mention Description

David Como, Radical Parliamentarians and the English Civil War (Oxford University Press, 2018)
Priya Satsa, Empire of Guns: The Violent Making of the Industrial Revolution (Penguin, 2018)
2019 Book Prize Description

Erika Rappaport, A Thirst for Empire: How Tea Shaped the Modern World (Princeton, 2017)
Honorable mention: Susan D. Amussen & David E. Underdown, Gender, Culture and Politics in England, 1560-1640: Turning the World Upside Down (Bloomsbury, 2017)
2018 Book Prize Description

Alastair Bellany and Thomas Cogswell, The Murder of King James I (Yale University Press, 2015)
Marc Matera, Black London: The Imperial Metropolis and Decolonization in the Twentieth Century (University of California Press, 2015)
2016 Book Prize Description

Jordanna Bailkin, The Afterlife of Empire (UC Press, 2012)
2014 Book Prize Description
Honorary mention: Michele Tusan, Smyrna’s Ashes: Humanitarianism, Genocide, and the Birth of the Middle East (UC Press, 2012)

Reba Soffer, History, Historians, and Conservatism (Oxford, 2010)
2012 Book prize description

Priya Satia, Spies in Arabia: The Great War and the Cultural Foundations of Britain’s Covert Empire in the Middle East (Oxford, 2008)
2010 Book Prize description

Deborah Harkness, The Jewel House: Elizabethan London and the Scientific Revolution (Yale, 2008)
James Vernon, Hunger: A Modern History (Belknap Press, 2007)
2008 Book Prize descriptions

Victoria Kahn, Wayward Contracts: The Crisis of Political Obligation in England, 1640-1674 (Princeton, 2004)
2006 Book Prize description

This entry was posted in Book Prize, Winners of Prizes. Bookmark the permalink.